Local Cosplayers on the Rise – Bree Faith, Mooseychan, and Inochii

A Chat With Local Cosplayers: Bree Faith, Mooseychan and Inochii

Sparkboom™ interviewed two local cosplayers that will be appearing at Cosplay Sunday on July 20th at Escape Pod Comics. Bree Faith is a professional voice actress from Centerport, NY who has cosplayed since 2009. Mooseychan hails from the eastern end of Long Island cosplaying since 2007. Sierra Nicole who cosplays under “Inochii” is relatively new to Cosplaying with two years of experience. Hear what they have to say about their experiences getting into cosplay.

Pinkie Pie (My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic) - 2012 Anime Boston

Bree Faith

What got you into cosplay?

Bree Faith: “I am a professional voice actress with a passion for acting. Getting into character is something I really enjoy, and I always loved Halloween. I think all three of those things were why cosplay was so appealing to me. It has always been something fun to do with friends while expressing my love for a certain series and character.” 

Mooseychan: “I always really loved to dress up, and as I got into various interests as I got older (manga, videogames, etc.) I learned there was an entire culture dedicated to celebrating these things and dressing as the characters, and I never looked back” 

Inochii: “For a long time I have been a fan of comics and anime and I’ve always admired the character designs. But I think what really got me into cosplay was when I first started going to conventions when I was younger and seeing people portray these characters in person. There was so much dedication, I was so inspired! I wanted to get into cosplay but was always too timid and stuck to my Lolita Fashion instead. I continued to stay involved in the convention scene and met so many amazing cosplayers who helped me realize that I could make the venture into cosplay, and so with the help of my fiancé we tried our hand at costume making! And since then we’ve been in love with it!”

What does cosplay mean to you?

Bree Faith: “It’s a way to express yourself, your love for something, and get to into character. Cosplaying is fun to do with friends, fun to show off what you can create and make, and a way to show your interpretation of a character- just like with acting.”

mooseychan

Mooseychan

Mooseychan: “Cosplay is a way for me to wear my interests on my sleeve in the most literal sense. It lets me bond with others over the things I love most, and it’s such a therapeutic creative outlet”

Inochii: “I feel cosplay is an opportunity to honor the characters you love while exploring your creativity. Creating patterns, sewing, and fabricating props were all new things to me. It really builds confidence when you see your wonderful finished products after weeks of hard work. And of course the reactions from the fans is always very validating.”

Who was your first cosplay?

Bree Faith: “When I was in 7th grade I made a cosplay of Envy from Fullmetal Alchemist. I don’t think I’ve ever found a picture of it, but it was really fun! Then in 10th grade I dressed up as a genderbent Link from Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, Misa from Death Note and L from Death Note. My first cosplay at a convention though was Hanyuu from Higurashi no naka koro ni kai (When the Cicadas Cry). I wore her shrine maiden outfit and her school outfit to New York Anime Fest in 2009.”

Mooseychan: “Kid from Chrono Cross. I was 12 and it was a hot mess. I actually hope to one day remake her and actually do her justice.”

Inochii: “My first cosplay was Bridget from Guilty Gear for Katsucon in 2013. It was mostly just for fun, and we made it a week before the convention. But it really was a ton of fun! I like to think of Supergirl as my first real cosplay that we put a lot of time and effort into and she’s always my favorite costume to wear!”

How do you choose who to cosplay?

Bree Faith: “I usually choose a character that resonates with me in some way- either character, voice, or something I admire and want to recreate in their outfit or design.  I think one of my biggest dream cosplays is Princess Zelda from Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. I’d also like to do Saria, Kafei and maybe even Skullkid from Legend of Zelda one day. I’m a big fan of the series and find a lot of admirable aspects in different characters from the series, like Zelda who is suppose to represent wisdom and overtime has shown that Princesses (or Queens) can fight their own battles- especially in Hyrule Warriors. Saria is a kind character who steps up to protect her people and country by becoming the Sage of the Forest, Kafei is a tragic lover who faces his fears and shame, and Skullkid is a troubled prankster. They are all interesting characters!  I’d also love to cosplay from Sailor Moon as the title character or Sailor Venus because they showed me how girls can kick butt but still be feminine and how to confront self confidence issues. Especially Sailor Moon who is clumsy, a crybaby and a foodie but still able to fight evil and embrace herself. I choose characters who I admire in some way- usually they have some form of importance to me from their design to their character.”

Mooseychan: “The personality is the be-all end-all for me, but bonus points for KoGal (punky school girl uniform aesthetic) and huge challenging wigs. I love characters with massive amounts of charm and/or emotional instability.”

LocalCosplayer_Inochii

Inochii

Inochii: “I primarily choose my characters based on if I relate to or appreciate their personality, especially if I find the character particularly inspiring. I also have an affinity for design and am always on the lookout for new, fun, and challenging character designs.”

Anything else you would like people to know about you or cosplay?

Bree Faith: “You can follow my cosplay and voice over on my facebook page here. I do a lot less cosplay now that I am focusing on my professional voice over career but you can find me at Cosplay Sunday event in Huntington and occasionally working on costumes for Halloween, for fun with friends or for PAX East. Mostly I do not cosplay at conventions though to keep up my professional appearance as a voice actress. In the future I hope to get to try out making armored cosplays, finish up some League of Legends cosplay that I have left unfinished due to school, and hopefully some costumes of characters I have been the voice for. I also have a lot of costumes I have retired for sale, you can find them on the for sale album on Facebook! In addition, I also sell prints of three of my favorite costumes Catherine, Lucy Heartphilia and Pinkie Pie.”

Mooseychan: “I also run a maid cafe! Our name is SAKE Darlings and we will be debuting at the Sparkboom™ event!  I love being a bit of an ambassador to beginners and openly welcome any and all questions!!!”

Inochii: “While I’m pretty new to the creating cosplays, I’m really motivated and love learning new techniques and processes. Additionally, I’m always ready to teach others whatever I can. The cosplay community has already been super helpful getting me started, and I I’d love to help foster that community.”

Have more questions about these amazing cosplayers? Then come ask them at Cosplay Sunday July 20th at Escape Pod Comics and get a chance to see their costumes in person!

 RSVP to Cosplay Sunday here!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

alyssapicAlyssa Hesse is an intern at SPARKBOOM™ and studying Business Management at Adelphi University. When Alyssa isn’t working, she can be found on her unicycle or with her three cats.. When she graduates next year she hopes to make a career in industrial stage management.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Local Cosplayers on the Rise – Bree Faith, Mooseychan, and Inochii

  1. […] Local Cosplayers on the Rise – Bree Faith, Mooseychan, and Inochii […]

Leave a Reply

